Aliko Dangote, Akinwunmi Adesina, others get UN appointments


The President of Dangote group, Aliko Dangote, Akinwunmi Adesina, President of the African Development Bank, and 25 others have received new appointments from the United Nations (UN).

The Secretary-General of the United Nations, António Guterres appointed the 27 leaders as part of a team to combat malnutrition across the world, Scaling Up Nutrition (SUN) movement.

READ ALSO: Six killed, others injured in Gombe accident

READ ALSO: Breaking: Court orders DSS to release Sowore

Dangote, Akinwunmi and other global leaders will meet to spearhead the fight against malnutrition and sustain the continuation of the movement into its third phase (2021 to 2025).

The Scaling Up Nutrition (SUN) Movement continues its drive to improve nutrition for all women, men and their families, everywhere, with the coming together of 27 newly appointed global leaders – all committed to fighting malnutrition in all its forms.

READ ALSO: Actress Sotayo calls out colleagues for introducing her to alleged fraudster (photo)

Appointed by United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres, these prominent figures are changemakers who have pledged to make sure nutrition is placed, and remains, at the top of the agenda, and will provide inspiration and direction for the SUN Movement and its mission in eradicating malnutrition. One in three people suffer from malnutrition the world over and 149 million girls and boys are stunted, SUN noted.

List of the 27 lead group members:

1 Akinwumi ADESINA (Nigeria), president, African Development Bank

2 Aliko DANGOTE (Nigeria), chairman and CEO, Dangote Group 3. Manal AL ALEM (Jordan), chef

4 Reem Ebrahim AL-HASHIMI (UAE), cabinet member and minister of state for international cooperation

5 Mercedes ARÁOZ FERNÁNDEZ (Peru), vice president, Republic of Peru

6 Inger ASHING (SWEDEN), CEO, Save the Children International

7 Cherrie ATILANO (Philippines), founder and CEO, Agrea Agricultural Systems International Inc.

8 Alicia BÁRCENA IBARRA, (Mexico), executive secretary, Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean

9 David BEASLEY (USA), executive director, World Food Programme

10 Martin CHUNGONG (Cameroon), secretary general, Inter Parliamentary Union

11 Josefa Leonel CORREIA SACKO (Angola), commissioner for Rural Economy and Agriculture, African Union Commission

12 Annette DIXON (New Zealand), vice president Human Development, World Bank

13 Chris ELIAS (USA), president of Global Development, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

14 Shenggen FAN (China), director general, International Food Policy Research Institute

15 Henrietta H. FORE (USA), executive director, UNICEF and chair of the SUN Movement Lead Group

16 Sophie HEALY-THOW (Ireland), youth leader

17 Daniel KABLAN DUNCAN, (Côte d’Ivoire), vice president Côte d’Ivoire

18 Monica Katebe MUSONDA (Zambia), founder and CEO, Java Foods

19 Jakaya KIKWETE (Tanzania), former President, United Republic of Tanzania, Kikwete Foundation

20 Shinichi KITAOKA (Japan), president, Japan International Cooperation Agency

21 Maryam MONSEF (Canada), minister of International Development and minister for Women and Gender Equality, Canada

22 David NABARRO (United Kingdom), Sustainable Development Facilitator, 4SD

23 Sania NISHTAR (Pakistan), founder and president, Heartfile Foundation

24 Inia SERUIRATU (Fiji), minister of Foreign Affairs, Fiji

25 Feike SIJBESMA (The Netherlands), CEO, Royal Dutch DSM

26 Gunhild Anker STORDALEN (Norway), founder and Ppresident, EAT Foundation

27 Gerda VERBURG (The Netherlands), UN Assistant Secretary-General and Coordinator of the SUN Movement


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here